1 week in

Standard

So figuring how I am going to give up the deliciousness of bread, crackers, Panda licorice, granola etc hasn’t been as difficult as I thought it was going to be.  I’m kind of enjoying it actually!

The main reasons that I wanted to try eliminating wheat was to see if the gluten had anything to do with a few ailments I have/had.

1.  Extreme muscle soreness.  All the time.  Morning is just painful.  Workout or no workout, I was always sore.  WTF.

2.  Extreme runny nose.  Not sick, not allergy season just runny, all the time.

3.  Gas.  I actually think that I will always be gassy.  Haha

4.  Buddha belly.  Over the years, no matter how hard I’ve trained, I have always had this little Buddha belly.  What has also been present over the years, always there in my diet, yep, wheat.  Every single day.  Wheat.

So as of yesterday, I have been wheat free (as best to my knowledge) for 1 week.

I do feel that just 1 week is not really enough time to make any big decisions of whether or not this protein is the main cause of my issues above, but I have not been rolling out of bed in pain this past week yet still training hard.  This has felt amazing.  

I can’t comment on the runny nose situation as I had a cold this week so it’s been a snot fest but I am at the end of it now.

Gas has seemed to have simmered down a bit but I have also cut out whey protein in attempts to pinpoint my gassiness.

And, Buddha belly, again, 1 week is not enough time to notice any changes here.

Overall, I have felt fine with cutting the wheat out.  Yes, I sure do miss the ciabatta buns we buy at Costco and how they make the most amazing sandwiches but with this elimination experiment, it also allows you to discover different foods.  Different things for breakfast and to be more creative with what you are eating. 

Sooooo, the experiment will continue.  I’m enjoying it so far!

2 responses »

  1. Hey Sloan! I loved reading your blog and have felt your pain…I’ve avoided wheat and dairy for the last year due to “seemingly unimportant” health issues but I can tell you it’s worth it. I feel more energetic, less bloated, and yes my nose has stopped running (unless I’m eating spicy food) 😉 . I’m pretty confident you will feel better too so keep it up! 🙂

    Dawn

  2. Hey you… I’m gonna enjoy following your blog.. As to your food “changes”.. I also was very “gassy” (maybe it has something to do with the Kusmack genes??). I found that I was lactose intolerant, I gave up my glass of milk at every meal .. I crave a bowl of cereal every once in a while .. So I will have one. I can have cheese, ice cream (a small dish) sour cream (perogies!) in moderation.. But one too many bowls of cereal.. Whew… Gas build up and bloating. So maybe try the ” moderation” intake of dairy.

    So I wish you all the best .. Will be cheering from Ontario..
    Sending my love!

Leave a Reply

