More baby steps

Standard

Image

Seeing yourself progress is just awesome.  In anything, playing guitar, drawing, losing a couple pounds, whatever it is, when you notice yourself progressing, all of the hard work and all of those times you were frustrated are worth it.

My latest progression has been on the bike.  When I first joined the spin groups I could barely be up out of the saddle for 30 seconds.  EXTREME lactic acid in my quads.  Holy cow.

Now, I’m up to 90 seconds, yesterday we did 2 minutes.  Now, it’s still not pleasant, but I can handle 1 minute with strength and ease now.  This feels so good.  Every time you work on your craft, whatever it might be, even if you weren’t able to spend as much time a you would have liked on it that day, it counts.  It all counts in making yourself better, stronger.

As we were coming up on yet another interval out of the saddle yesterday in class, my buddy Garry said “It just makes us better, right!? makin us better.”

Heck yeah I thought.  All of this hard work is just making us better each and every time we do it.  I want to get better.  I need to get better in order to finish this thing so here we go, up out of the saddle once again.

Did you get out of your saddle today and take yourself to that uncomfortable place?  That uncomfortable place is the place where we grow.  There is NO growth in stagnation.  None.

So, let’s learn how to find comfort in these uncomfortable places.

Go get em!

Leave a Reply

