Check.

Standard

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Ok.  So obviously, I’ve shaved my head.  Well, Randy shaved my head and I helped him shave his.  No big deal to him anymore as he’s done it many times now.

But for me, this is a BIG deal.  Shaving my head has been on my Bucket List for many years now.  I’ve come close several times but never had the balls to actually do it.

Carried around Natalie Portman’s photo around in my wallet in Korea when some hair dresser destroyed my hair with some terrible coloring, another time in Korea when I tried to convince my friend Melissa to shave it off together justifying it to her in that, well, your hair is already so short, what’s a few more inches.  Haha, she didn’t buy it.

And lots of other random times I have said to friends, yep, I’m gonna do it, I want to do it and of course never did.

Well screw it.  If you read my older post about fear, shaving my head falls into that category.

WHY did I never follow through all those other times.  Cause I was scared, chicken shit.

But of what really?  It’s hair!!

Afraid of what I would look like.  People would think I’m ugly or a lesbian.  For the Seinfeld lovers: “Not that there’s anything wrong with that.”

That it will take forever to grow out.  Again, who cares, its only hair and it WILL grow back.

Being attached to the little amount of hair that I did have was another reason not to do it.  No pony tails (not that I had much of one) or how it looks when it’s nice and straightened (not that that happened very often anyway) and just being used to having hair period!  I and almost everyone has had head their whole life.

And could I pull it off?  Are you strong enough to rock this as an individual.  At your core.  Are you up for it?

Now for the positives.

1. Shaving would mean conquering a fear.  I’m always up for that.  To stop talking about always WANTING to do it and just friggin do it already!

2. Let go of the attachment and of  letting my ego rule.

3. MORE TIME!!!!  This one right now is the biggest thing.  I spend too much freakin time on the small amount of hair I DID have.  My time is precious man!  I have lots of other things I would rather be doing than doing my hair.

4. Checking something off of my Bucket List.  This feels so great.  2013 is proving to be a year of checking boxes and I like it!

These are the main reasons.  Others include, possibly saving a few dollars with not having to purchase leave in conditioners and all that stuff.

Another is, Randy and I are going to have a little contest to see who’s hair grows out faster.  I have already committed to growing my hair until I reach 40 years old which is in 4 years.  I’m pretty sure that Randy will win this one!

So there it is.  I have no hair.  With this I have more time to be doing things I want to be doing such as writing this blog entry.  Haha

3 responses »

  1. you look fabulous with your new “style”!!! how was your vancouver weekend? any plans for another? when is the triathlon? look forward to hearing from you. arlene

  2. WOW! SLOANE! This is awesome. I am so glad you did this! I am really inspired by you shaving it all off that I kinda want to do it too now!!! Its all about conquering the fear…and my moms comments! LOL. Feel the fear and do it anyway….
    You look absolutely beautiful and free! Hopefully one day I can be as brave as you! Rock it girl!

Leave a Reply

