Feel what you Feel

Standard

http://iamtri.com/group/ironman-louisville-2012/forum/topics/the-ironman-taper-be-prepared-to-get-choked-up-a-little-bit-by

I always say this while leading a yoga class.  Just feel what you feel, accept it, be in it and move on.  I’m “feelin” it fully today.  Today is a day off from training and it’s taking all of my might to NOT get a workout in.  I feel like every little bit will help me for the 25th and that squeezing in another workout will make my fitness just a tiny bit better, where at this point, it will probably do me more harm. 

Plus, I really enjoy moving my body!  It feels good.  Like brushing my teeth.  It’s something I need to do every day.

But now (and always) I have to respect this body even more after all that I have asked from it and think that maybe your body hasn’t been able to work at the intensity you have asked for this week because you are tired and your body wants to rest!  LISTEN!

So, just lately, I’ve been feeling those thoughts of doubt – have I done enough?

Comparison – She’s got a pimp bike and has done this many long rides and has been cycling for a long time compared to my few months.

Anxiousness – Let’s do this damn thing already!  I’m tired of waiting, I’m tired of training, let’s just fucking do it!

Embrace, embrace, embrace, feel, feel, feel and know that I am not the only one feeling like this.  No way. 

I feel like this post is a little bit of a rambling stream of consciousness .  So be it.

Thanks to fellow triathlete Carly Marquardson for “liking” this article on FB which has allowed me to read it.

Please read the article….

Yep, this about sums it up for me right now.

Reading this allowed me to have a nice release in the form of a good cry.  Full on, ugly face, snot pouring out cry.  Ahhhhhhh, release. 

Key sentences here really resonate.  The doubt I am starting to feel, did I get enough long bike rides in?  Long enough runs?  Did I do EVERYTHING that I could to prepare myself as best I could for this event.

The answer is, YES.  Yes you have.  Why don’t you believe it?  Why do we doubt?  Really, anyone could do an Ironman distance tri tomorrow if someone said to you that $1 million dollars was waiting for you at the finish line right?  So why are we so silly to think that we won’t be able to do this and we have been training for the past 9 months or however long??

At the end of the day, the muscle that needs the most training is the brain.  This is what will get me through the race.  I CAN, I CAN, I CAN, I WILL, I WILL, I WILL.

Tears have dried.  Time to post some more affirmations throughout the house!

One response »

  1. Hi Sloane, great post…I’m no athlete, but it sure brought memories up of preparing for having my babies!!! Probably my most athletic endeavor to date…and filled with very similar emotions!! Can’t wait to cheer you on!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

